Hopefully Last Post on Friday Fun Day

September 5, 2011 at 2:08 pm Leave a comment

So recycling crayons. I had read this was a fun way of recycling those odds and ends. I didn’t want to risk the mould I had in the oven as it said it wasn’t dishwasher safe so I figured it wouldn’t be oven safe so I lined my muffin tray with muffin liners. Next time I would use two as there was leakage. It also smelt (almost set off the smoke detectors) as I probably left it in a little long. What I read online said 10 minutes but they were ready before 10 minutes. Another site did it in the microwave and then poured it into the moulds which might be the way to go. I didn’t stir them so the light colours rose and dark were at the bottom. The kids find them a little hard to handle to get them to colour right.

Anyway first we sorted them out into their colours

After being in the oven

Finished result

Alexander colouring in

If you want to make your own recycled crayons here are some other web sites
http://frugalliving.about.com/od/frugalfun/ht/Make_Crayons.htm
http://www.notimeforflashcards.com/tag/recycled-crayons
http://m134.bravepages.com/kelcraft/crayon.html

And that’s it. We did a couple of other fun things and I was exhausted by the end of the day but that is the end of the post about Friday Fun Day. If I do this again, I definitely want to do shaped crayons.

Entry filed under: Designs. Tags: .

More on Friday The Letter of the Day is “y”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

