Y is for yellow

February 8, 2012 at 9:28 am Leave a comment

I don’t have any photos of Emily creating this masterpiece because I was using the time to just let her colour while I did a little tidy. In two more weeks Emily will be going to pre school on Wednesdays but the mornings are still free at the moment after dropping her brother off at pre school. I want to get her to recognise the letters of her name and her name so we were up to the last letter today – y. Last year we did y for yellow and y for yak and yoyo so she is pretty good at recognising y. Today she asked for a banana so I talked to her about what colour bananas are in the car ride home.
When I got home I traced around the banana to make a lowercase y and pulled out every yellow pencil and crayon we have and told Em to colour in. Because the last few letters we have been doing she traced the letter she didn’t want to colour in but trace as well which was fine. I then dug out yellow bits and pieces and she/we glued them on.
I am sure if I had got the paint out she would have coloured it in but I wanted a simple not very messy craft today.

20120208-102002.jpg

20120208-102610.jpg

On a different background it stands out more.
I realised during this craft that I had to teach Emily how to actively rip paper when I told her to rip the paper smaller to glue on and she tried to tug and pull it apart.

Happy crafting.

Entry filed under: Activity, craft, Designs. Tags: , , .

More l craft Noah’s Ark

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

