The other Noah’s Ark

March 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm 1 comment

I realised that I said Emily received two Noah’s Arks for her birthday and only showed the cake.

I made this sort of following the pattern out of a book, sort of following my own pattern so some of the pockets are a little baggy.  I need to start making the animals to fill the pockets.  I have been a little lazy there because I am going to have to hand sew them, unlike the wall hanging which I used my new sewing machine for.  It was a lot of work but I am pleased with how it turned out.

Mr and Mrs Noah were very easy to make.  Make a ball of stuffing and then wrap tightly in light material and sew up the back.  Pull the top front to the back and sew up edges to form head.  Wrap thread tightly around the base of the head to make the neck.  Sew on face.

To make the body I used felt to create a cylinder, sew up the back, turn inside out so seam on inside.  Place head inside cylinder and gather and sew.  Stuff body full of stuffing.  Cut a disc of card and a disc of felt.  Place and bottom and sew so it can stand up.  I used unspun sheep’s wool to make hair and beard.  You can make clothing for them and perhaps in the future I will.

Entry filed under: craft, Designs, sewing. Tags: .

Noah’s Ark C is for Crocodile

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

