Cake Decorating

May 19, 2012 at 8:27 pm Leave a comment

My family are staying with me and my nephew turned 9 yesterday so I offered to make him a cake.  Consulting with my sister I decided to make the cake in the shape of a number 9.  I found some chocolate aeroplanes when I was looking for cars (I was thinking of doing a race track) and since we had an airshow 2 weeks ago I decided to make an airport.

 

Now my other nephew is vegan so I had to look into making a vegan cake. I pulled out my old trusty red velvet cake recepe and just omitted the eggs and used my kids’ rice milk.  It still tasted pretty yummy.  I didn’t have a  cake tin with a hole in the middle so I just used my round cake tin and cut out the middle (I think I destroyed my egg ring.  The cake was still frozen when I tried hammering it in to cut out the middle).

I made “cream cheese” icing using 2 tubs of tofutti, some non-diary butter and 2 cups of icing sugar.  I probably made too much and could have done just one tub of tofutti.  I divided it into two bowls, coloured the smaller amount green for the grass and then used white to ice the airport building and then used cocoa to make it brown for the runway.  I used “writing icing” to make the runway marks and decorate the building.  Small choc chips made the runway lights.  I think it turned out pretty good, albeit a little messy.

Now the cupcakes are cooling and the rest of the chocolate icing will decorate them.

Entry filed under: cake. Tags: , , , , , .

Portable play mat Lego Box

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

