Portable play mat

May 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm 1 comment

Whilst browing pink lemonade I saw their dinosaur playmat and their car mats and I thought about my nephew who is also going on the plane trip.  He is too young for a dollshouse and I didn’t have all the material for one anyway and I thought a play mat would be better for him anyway being less than 1.  It is a bit too big for an aeroplane tray but they can drap it over their laps, the pull down tray or put it down on the floor.  I decided to make it two sided.  One with roads and one with a general looking landscape based on the dinosaur layout.  I didn’t have a lot of felt so I used felt and fabric odds and ends.

I used black fabric for the roads and sewed it on with white thread to make the lane markings.  They are only wide enough for one car but I still put the middle lane markers anyway for aesthetic reasons.  I then placed them right sides together, added some ribbon, sewed together leaving a gap to pull them right side out, sewed that out with a bit of ribbon to and voila!  I wasn’t sure whether to add the ribbon or not and I think I will advise my family that it is a play mat for supervised play.

At the ends of the ribbons I sewed on two silohettes.  One a car and the other a basic looking animal with zebra print felt.  I put a stick on velcro on the back and so now it sticks to the felt.  Unfortunately the whole mat is not felt so they only stick to the felt bits but because I used fabric it folds up to a good size and will be able to fit in a take on luggage bag.

I didn’t take photos as I was making it up as I went along.  It took me a couple of hours.

I decided to make it a red tree as it needed some colour with all the blues and greens.  I should have designed it and made it bigger, I cut with pinky shears free hand.  The animal was from pink lemonade and I used the felt that is supposed to be for the zebras for Emily’s Noah’s Ark (oops will have to buy some more).  It is supposed to be a giraffe but well mine has stripes.

Here is the other side.

I didn’t sew up the garage door all the way around so it is the perfect pocket for either storing the fabric car or two little matchbox/hot wheels cars,

Here is the mat in use.

And here it is folded up, the top ribbon with no attached figure ties it together.

This just used left over material and felts from Emily’s Noah’s Ark project.  Super Easy to do!

Entry filed under: craft, Designs, sewing, sewing. Tags: , , , , , .

Portable Fabric Dollshouse Cake Decorating

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy@Serving Pink Lemonade  |  May 20, 2012 at 2:03 am

    What a great idea to make your play mat reversible. Looks like the kids love it! Thanks so much for sharing your project with me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

