Alexander’s birthday present

July 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm Leave a comment

Emily seems to do well out of my creations and I’ve been thinking what to make Alexander for his birthday. I have seen on Pinterest of storing toy cars on knife holder magnetic strips. Unfortunately the metal in modern toy cars is negligible and this doesn’t work. I toyed (ha ha) with the idea of attaching magnets to the cars and doing it that way but thin strips don’t have the grip to hold the weight of the card and bigger magnets means you can’t drive the cars anymore.

So next idea was hot glue Velcro strips to the cars.

20130716-201637.jpg

I originally put the strip lengthwise but that means the cars slide more than roll but if I just put it on the middle section that was enough.

I found a canvas (the last one! Time to buy some more they’ve been so useful) and Emily got to painting. Green for grass and A’s favourite colour.

20130716-201847.jpg

20130716-201854.jpg

My first idea was to lay ‘roads’ using felt but I didn’t like how it looked as my felt wasn’t long enough to do a length without a join and because I had cut it thick it just didn’t represent my idea.

I changed ideas and because Alexander us interested in maps I printed out maps of where we live, the new house and other significant places i.e. grandparents’ houses.

I glued this on with Mister Maker’s gloopy glue – craft glue mixed with water. I let dry and over a period of couple of days ( while A was at school) E and I covered the maps with 2 layers of gloopy glue.

I then used the felt to make an A in the middle. Unfortunately this is where I stuffed up. I glued the A on upside down, ie the maps are now the wrong way round.

Here is the finished result. I am pleased with it, I hope A will be.

20130716-202600.jpg

The banner at the top is perhaps for his cake but I am starting to think it is too big and looks good draped over the canvas.

Entry filed under: craft, Designs, Sibling craft. Tags: , , .

Girl’s hair and jewellery organiser mk II Cleaning ink

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2013
S M T W T F S
« May    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

